a newsflash and some makes

i feel i’ve got some explaining to do.  i’ve been neglecting my blog lately.  big style.  but for good reason.

we parked there legitimately.  oh my!  i’m 30 weeks and am still feeling somewhat dumbstruck by the fact that we are having a baby, particularly because i am now, ahem, forty (what?).  much of the last 30 weeks have been spent struggling through incessant nausea (hence, not much baking) and exhaustion (nix on the sewing, crocheting and writing).  despite the knocks, i am still overjoyed to be pregnant – what a trip it is!  fortunately, i’ve been feeling better over the last few months (thank you, diclectin), but my brain just hasn’t cooperated with trying to think creatively, so please forgive me if this post is a painful read.

because my blurry brain thinks it has come up with a baby-themed post, i thought i’d share a couple of baby gifts i’ve made recently.

this is a simple baby snuggler from the free pattern by lotta jansdotter (i think i want to be her – just peek at her website.  wow).  the exterior is chambray, the interior is flannel, and it closes up with velcro, making it a cosy and safe alternative to the now much-feared loose-blanket-in-the-crib.  plus, for those who are swaddle-challenged, it is a tad easier than swaddling a squirmy baby.  it turned out a bit larger than i expected, so i’m not sure it’s newborn-appropriate.  hopefully it will fit the handsome new-babe soon, and will live up to its promises of ensuring sweet-dreams and long sleeps.

next up is an ad-libbed blanket i made up sans-pattern, for another handsome baby-friend of ours.  i was quite pleased with what i came up with, though i do realize one hardly needs a pattern to explain how to construct something as simple as a blanket.  nevertheless, i did whip up some nice bound-edges and added a little appliqued initial to each side to make it a little more personal.  this was my first attempt at applique, so it is less than perfect in its sloppiness, but perhaps it will lend itself to the hand-made vibe of the gift.

a note on fabric – one side of this is a super-soft, fine-wale corduroy, the other a nice checked-flannel.  did you know there is a vast difference in the quality of flannels?  buyer beware!  i bought a great moose-print flannel at fabricland which, sadly, pilled dramatically when washed.  i washed it again, and it looked even worse, with streaks of pilling and it was see-through in places.  unacceptable!  apparently a heavier quilter’s-flannel is the way to go if you’re looking for durability.

IMG_5952

if you’re still reading, thanks for bearing with me and my poor writing and blurry photos.  i do have a few more makes and tasty recipes to share, plus a work-in-progress, so please do stay tuned!

•  •  •

32 Comments

Filed under sewing

32 responses to “a newsflash and some makes

  1. Congratulations! 🙂 As the mother of a three-month-old, I love all of your ideas in this post. Lots of good vibes to you for the next 6 weeks and beyond!

    And yes, the swaddle sacks are a godsend! Also, white noise and putting the tot to sleep when drowsy but not totally conked out. (Trust ne.)

    Best wishes! Erin

    • thanks! it’s good to know that a real mom digs these things 🙂
      congrats to you on your new babe – i bet your life has changed sooo much in the last few months! and thank you for the sage advice 🙂

  2. That is big news! Congratulations 🙂 Yes, I remember before I got pregnant with my first, I always heard about glowing, beautiful, energetic mum-to-bes, and I just couldn’t get out of my bed through the 41 weeks, and could hardly think straight… Well done with the baby related projects! The swaddle is a very good idea! I am so excited for you 🙂

  3. How exciting! I hope you’ll be feeling better very soon. Your blanket and snuggler are just darling (love the cute monogram; you did a nice job with the applique). Best wishes!!

  4. Awwwwww!!!! You’re having a baby! That’s wonderful and the best excuse ever! I love the swaddler! That was one thing that my mom helped me with with my second son. Will liked to be swaddled and tight, when he was a newborn. My mom knew how to do it. Looks like that do-hickey will take all the guess work out of it!!! Congrats!!!xoxo

  5. I made that swaddler too, and it turned out gigantic–I love the style of that book, but based on the things I’ve made from it, I fear that it is better for inspiration than actual FOs. But yours is precious!

  6. Congratulations! Well, I’d say you’ve been cooking up something pretty good after all. 😉

  7. Congratulations! So fun to see your projects…I just picked up supplies for the swaddle today! I am tackling it for my sister who is expecting in June. Hopefully mine turns out as nicely as yours!

    • thank you!
      i’m looking forward to hearing about your swaddler, and seeing it, as i’m sure it will be beautiful!
      i did something weird when sewing the first seam, so when it was all complete it was a little bunchy at the corners under the ‘arms’, but fortunately it’s not super obvious. i’m sure you won’t make the same mistake i did!

  8. Oh, how exciting! Congratulations!! 🙂

    Heck knows how that ‘glowing with lots of energy’ mother-to-be myth came about. I’m convinced it’s a myth, coz really, pregnancy is exhausting!! :-/

  9. littlepostcards

    Congratulations! That is exciting news! Both the swaddler and the blanket are adorable.

  10. Congratulations! The projects look lovely and came at a great time – my best friend has just had her baby today and I’ve been searching for a swaddler pattern all day! Thank you!

  11. Hi Karen, what a fun way of ‘announcing’ your pregnancy. See, you’re still thinking creatively! You’ve made some adorable baby treasures here. Now are they for you or a gift for a friend? I am beginning to imagine what a beautiful little nursery you will have. All cozy and warm. And soon! Looking forward to your next recipe, but only if you’re up to it.

    • these were gifts for friends – one here and one over your way! we haven’t found out the gender of our dumpling, and it’s presenting a bit of a challenge in acquiring baby gear – almost everything (fabric included) is very gender specific these days.
      hey – do you know of any sources for laminated cotton? i want to make a cover for our change pad, but have heard that oil cloth has lots of nasty things in it and isn’t appropriate for bibs and whatnot…

  12. Oh what sweet news! Congratulations! I’m sorry to hear about the flannel though, always a bummer when that happens!

  13. Congratulations on the baby to be! And I also agree about the quality of flannel. I now only buy known names of flannel, or I look for a double-napped variety that seems to be a higher quality! Enjoy your next few weeks!

  14. Congratulations!!! What an amazing time in your life – no one can blame you for the blog taking a back seat 🙂 Take care of yourself and family first; the blog will always be here 🙂

  15. Amy

    Congratulations! I’m 20 weeks at the moment, and can totally relate to the exhaustion factor! Hope you feel more yourself and able to do more fun things soon.

Leave a comment