polka dot {wiksten tank}

i have a thing with polka dots.  and tanks.  and polka-dotted tanks.  i do love dots applied liberally, in dresses and coats and umbrellas, for instance, but i’m not a spotlight-seeker, so i tend to save them for less conspicuous things like linings and wallets.  and, apparently, tanks.  i think i find the cheekiness of polka dots a little less spotlight-grabbing when used in a smaller garment, and a polka-dotted tank suits my sartorially cautious-but-coy side just fine.

i have adored the wiksten patterns for ages, and finally ordered the e-versions of them this summer.  i set about making the tank straight away, printing and taping and cutting the pattern pieces – a slightly tedious task that i rather enjoy.  i also like ironing*.  i’m weird that way.
[*which is ironic, given that this tank is clearly not crease-free.]

i found the pattern quite easy to follow, but i must say that i found the instructions a little sparse in places.  i find it annoying when patterns don’t mention anything about finishing exposed edges.  of course an experienced seamstress knows better than to leave the pocket edges unfinished, but a beginner may not.  it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world to have a pocket fall off after a few washings, but why suffer that agony if you don’t have to?

i love the shape of this top – it seems so modern.  the curved hem is catchy, and i like that it is slightly longer in the back than it is in the front.  the wee pocket is nice addition, even if it is virtually invisible in my polka dot version.  i do find the neckline almost scandalously low, certainly low enough that i need a layer beneath (or i need to be really careful when bending over).  i did use a cursed quilting cotton for this, albeit a lighter one, so it doesn’t provide the drape i think this pattern demands.  i hope wiksten tank number two, in the glorious V&A voile shown below, will be spot on.  it will, of course, have the added bonus of reminding me of my trips to the V&A, one of my most favourite places in all of london.

i must know, do any of you get sentimental over fabrics?  do you cherish some fabrics so much that you can’t bear to cut into them?  please tell me i’m not the only fabric-nut out there!

•  •  •
25 Comments

Filed under sewing

25 responses to “polka dot {wiksten tank}

  1. LOL I own plenty of fabric that appear to have been purchased for the sole purpose of patting and stroking. I love your top. I’ve managed to resist this pattern so far but spring is here…

  2. Ash

    LOVE polkadots, and LOVE this tank!! great work 🙂

  3. Chani @ pearls,lace and pancakes

    love the V&A fabric!

    Yes, I too buy fabric and then can’t bear to cut it up. Which is silly really, because it’s not doing much just sitting in a drawer. I vow to have a more normal relationship with fabric in future!

  4. love the top!!

    Yes I get attached to fabrics and some projects are more deserving of certain fabrics than others!! I think there are rankings!! LOL

  5. Your polka dot version is lovely! I must say I have been curious about this pattern, I wonder how it compares to the Colette Sorbetto top. I am thinking maybe the Wiksten tank is the way to go. And yes! I do have fabric that I cannot bear to cut into- Some Liberty of London Carline Blue to be exact! Hurts me to think about it!

    • thanks, tracey!
      the carline blue is so beautiful. i bet you’re dying to use it, but it has to be just the right thing. the agony!
      i’d say the wiksten tank is as easy to make as the sorbetto, but the shape is quite different. it’s more of an A-line cut, though you can’t really see that in my pictures, and it is longer. i was a medium by measurements and did find it fits accordingly, whereas the sorbetto fit was too big all around, despite following their sizing chart. the wiksten neck/arm edges are finished with homemade bias tape, too, but it’s all on the interior, so it doesn’t show like it does on the sorbetto. does that make sense? of course you could change that easily, if desired. i’m looking forward to making the dress version – i think it’d be fun to wear with tights or leggings 🙂

  6. I’m definitely sentimental over special fabrics that other people have given me. But once I cut into one because I was sick of looking at it & not doing anything. Regretted it horribly the next day. Good job with the top- it’s super cute!

  7. Cute top! Love your second fabric, too!

    The V&A is my favorite place in London, too.

  8. swoodsonsays

    I love the drape and hemline of this – I wish I loved printing & taping pattern pieces like you though!

  9. I am so far, far too sentimental about fabrics (and other things, but let’s focus on the fabrics)… it’s silly! On the plus side, I’m trying to convince myself that if I cut and fail, I can always cut them up (again) and make a quilt (a good thing about sewing with quilting cottons).

  10. Last spring I bought some gorgeous cotton and silk blend handwoven ikat fabrics in Bali and I keep thinking of the most amazing vintage dresses they would lend themselves perfectly to, but I just seem to be having an impossible time putting scissors to fabric. I’m thinking it may have something to do with the fact that I seem to make it over there about once a decade. Thanks for visiting my (2 day old) blog!

    • those fabrics sound so precious – i can understand why it’s so difficult to cut into them. if you do make something with one of them, it would definitely become an heirloom piece you’d cherish forever. congratulations on your brand new blog! you’re off to a great start 🙂

  11. Pingback: autumn {wiksten tova dress} | stirandstitch

  12. this looks great, I love the polka dots, and it looks like it still has a nice drape. And, yes, I had to go back and look for that pocket, but it is a great little addition.

Leave a Reply

